A vertical panel with a Close button
  • My desktop isn't ready and I only have some days of experience with LXDE. Screenshots of others here are definitely more refined. I have some experience with Xfce which is easily customizable and with LXQt which is in many things similar. Here is my screenshot:

The theme is Numix, icon theme masalla and the concept of a vertical panel with a Close button on top is borrowed from Manjaro Nebook edition. (Please, don't be offended that I mention Manjaro too often, this doesn't mean that I like LXLE less. Not at all!!) In Xfce it is easier to implement with a launcher applet, in LXDE I needet to create a .desktop file for it:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Version=1.0
    Exec=wmctrl -c :ACTIVE:
    Icon=window-close
    StartupNotify=false
    Terminal=false
    Type=Application
    Categories=Utility
    Name=CloseCurrentWindow
    NoDisplay=false
    Hidden=false
    Name[en_US]=CloseCurrentWindow
    Comment=
    Comment[en_US]=

I also managed to implement wallpaper rotation, creating my first script file called change-wallpaper with the code borrowed from the .desktop file in the application Random Wallpaper:
    #!/bin/sh
    dash -c 'pcmanfm -w "$(find /home/eugen/Pictures/Wallpapers -type f | shuf -n1)"' u

Then I issued in terminal: chmod -x ~/bin/change-wallpaper
    And then found out that I have to write the command in this syntax to the crontab (with Sceduled Tasks application):
    /bin/bash -c "/home/eugen/bin/change-wallpaper"