Light distros performence cancelled out by modern Apps
  • Hi all,
    Not sure if this is the right forum for this. Please direct me to the right one if not.

I've been using LXLE, for a few months now, on my 1.6Ghz CPU and 12Gb Ram laptop.
    The reason to choose this light distro was to get the most out of this old laptop and to focus all its resources on the task of recording streamed TV programs.
    Unfortunately, I have realized I can't do that. Not because of LXLE but certainly because of Chrome or Firefox hogging the CPU.
    These browsers seem to be the only browsers able to play encrypted streamed video.

Also, I use vscode for my coding and text editing. And it does take some time to launch.

So, my feeling is that :
    1- light distros on old laptops are only useful for simple tasks. As soon as we want to do video processing or use some modern software, chances are a more powerful computer is required.
    2- modern Apps are not optimized at all. The companies assume users will use powerful machines.

What do you think ?
    Thank you  
  • I was experimenting with the default browser Seamonkey. I am using it now. Unlike the other name brands, Seamonkey is using 1 process in the task manager.  It is using 269 MB of memory and 2 GB VM.  I know what you are going to say next...

But Seamonkey won't work with my streaming video service.

I tweaked Seamonkey using about:config and general.useragent.override is changed to; Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux ppc64le; rv:75.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/75.0

This totally borked YouTube, but that is not what we want.

Tubi TV - works! (https://tubitv.com/home)
    Memory 670 MB / VM 3.2 GB

NetFlix - loaded but failed to play error F7701-1003

Pluto TV - works! (https://pluto.tv)
    Memory 640 MB / VM 3 GB