I'm a lost newbie
  • Hi Folks,

I finally got lxle installed, and I am used to a Windows environment. I'm pretty much lost. Is there somewhere that explains what the different terminology means? I'm definitely not a techie, but I don't give up easily either. I have a whole lot to learn, beginning with the basics. Any recommendations?

Ed
  • ZakaZaka
    PMPosts: 202
    Welcome, Ed62!

You've done the challenge part ~ installing LXLE.

My advice is to just wade in ~ click on items in the menus to see what they offer.  As you go along, your favorite search engine will help you ~ just look up the name of the program with the term 'Linux' along with the program name in the search bar and read what you need to know!

If there's something that you particularly want to do or are interested, again, use the term 'Linux' and a description, etc.  For example, you like to edit photographs.  Search for:  Linux photo editing and you'll find GIMP returned ~ GIMP image editor is installed in the LXLE programs and you're good to go!  If you need tutorials ~ YouTube is your friend.

You may spend your entire time in Linux and not need the dreaded "command line interface" ~ but it's not scary at all and usually, you'll find cut-and-paste examples in articles that will keep you from having to memorize a lot of arcane commands.  Again, there are plenty of basic tutorials around.

Here's a link to get you started on terminology:  http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/linux-confusing-key-terms-definitions/

Please understand ~ you do not need to be a master mechanic to drive a car and likewise, you do not need to be a so-called Linux guru to enjoy a modern distro!  For instance, I have a handful of friends that could care less about the nuts-and-bolts and only use the 'update' function by way of maintaining their computers.  And everyone of them agrees they didn't know how much they hated Windows until they had Linux.