Migrating to Linux
  • spicymustardspicymustard
    PMPosts: 23
    Hello! I have been working with computers all my life and always Windows. I do IT Helpdesk for a living but looking to move to a network admin position. For the past couple of months I have been using linux in VMs and on my laptop and trying to learn new things everyday. Stumbled across this distro on distrowatch and installed it last night onto my laptop. My battery lasts so much longer now! I will post in that thread separately though :)

Anyways, loving the OS so far and wanted to join in on the discussions here!
  • welcome spicy!
    i first tried lxle in an effort to make my netbook somewhat usable.  all other distros really bogged it down with its puny atom 1.6ghz processor and slow hdd.  lxle is the only one to ever make it feel snappy!  I went on to install it in other crappy systems i had like pentium 2.8 ghz and made several htpc out of them.  i put it on a core i5 with ssd and fast ram - it goes from login screen to desktop up and wifi connected in 4.5 seconds flat every time! 
    i am a net eng and can tell you that jobs are out there if you have mid level vendor certs (ccnp level).  install gns3 to make a virtual lap and start studying.  there are lots of CBTs out there if you know where to look.  ;-)
    Thanked by 1LG5Productions
  • Hi tesla,

I have my CCNA R&S but haven't decided where to go from here. CCNA Security.. CCNP R&S.. MCSA Windows Server 2012.. etc. Not sure how far down the networking hole I want to go :)